happiness, life, life is good, life lessons, lifestyle, self worth

Self-Care

FB_IMG_1496878883966.jpg

I stumbled upon this while scrolling through facebook this evening, and it resonated deeply with me. I have been focused a lot on myself this year and have struggled with feeling selfish over it.

I spent a majority of last year and the year prior putting others needs before mine. Especially my other half- he needed all the support and care in the world with all of the rough things that were happening. I do not regret it one bit because that is what you do for your loved ones! I would do it all over again in a heartbeat if I had to.

These past few months I have “selfishly” been attending to my needs only it seems. Meal planning, shopping, etc…..all just for me. I feel guilty that I haven’t been attentive to everyone around me, and then this little reminder came about. It occurred to me that I am the happiest I have been in the longest time because I am finally caring for myself. In order to serve others you must serve yourself first. Now that I am where I want to be, I feel refreshed and ready to create a balance between taking care of myself and others.

2 thoughts on “Self-Care”

  1. It is so important to find the balance! So many people are stuck giving all their energy to people who do not deserve it, while others give too much to themselves. I have been thinking the same thing lately, am I giving too much to myself? It is great that you are mindful! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for this reminder, it’s something I really needed. It’s easy to fall into the trap of feeling selfish when you’re taking care of yourself, especially if it does affect others around you but it’s still so important. I definitely think balance is important and sometimes you’ve just got to start with yourself and work to that balance. Good on you for for this, glad you’re feeling refreshed and doing well. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

