life, poem, poems, poet, poetry, thoughts, writer, writing

The Storm

This morning I found a binder full of writings I did during a creative writing course I took back in high school. Here’s one of my poems…


The Storm

Watching the storm close in

is like seeing the world

with a clouded view

 

The rain begins falling

as someone is calling

out to a far away friend

 

I’ve felt this before

and never ignored

the thought that it could be again

 

But when I see your face

all I do is trace

all the flaws leading back to you

 

I’ll begin with the door

that’s been locked for so long

keeping mysteries I can’t figure out inside

 

The sun peaks out

to illuminate the sky

and remind me of times well spent

 

I’ll think of you now

as I think of you then

as the calm of the storm sinks in

©Emily Sankuer circa 2009
Leave a Reply

