wanderlust

Ramblings/Thoughts/Etc.

Everyone always says the first year of marriage is absolute bliss and often called the “honeymoon” phase. I really wish that was the case for us. Our relationship is strong as well as our love for each other, but in the four months we have been married so far, the amount of stressful situations has taken away that bliss and replaced it with frustration. From some “family” causing extreme tension that has yet to be discussed, to my husband being involved in a terrible accident that caused all of his repressed issues to come flooding in, I just want to escape to a beach somewhere and sob. (with a lot of rum)

I do not follow any religion, wasn’t raised in one either, but I have been praying and putting good vibes out into the world because I believe positivity breeds change and strength. My husband has just begun some intensive psychological therapy so that he can get through his PTSD and get back to work, which I am so thankful for. Seeing him struggle emotionally is very hard. I am trying my best to be a good wife and be as supportive as possible.


With everything going on I will admit that I have put caring for myself on the end of my list. Before our wedding, I had worked off about 10 of the 25 pounds I wanted to get rid of. Afterwards when everything started going haywire, those pesky 10 lbs found their way back on. So I am back at my starting point and this week was my breaking point. I ordered portion sized containers, meal plan guides, and a protein shaker bottle. When they arrive on Friday, I am throwing out everything bad in our home and replacing it with healthy options. I am getting my behind back to the gym and getting where I need to be. I am also proud to say that I will be returning to college in the Fall to FINALLY finish up my Bachelors degree in Management.

I apologize that this isn’t much of a usual fun post with travel pictures or recipes, sometimes the other side of reality needs to be expressed. Thanks for listening 🙂

5 thoughts on “Ramblings/Thoughts/Etc.”

  1. No apologies needed Emily, readers like these posts. Best wishes for your husband to heal soon. Marriage is a bit like a job in my view, it needs to be worked on every day to keep it running smoothly. Virtual hugs for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks John. It definitely is like a job, and having to be strong for someone other than myself through this whole thing has been quite challenging, but deeply rewarding! Vacation can’t come soon enough…

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is! I’m an only child so my whole life I’ve been only concerned with just myself pretty much, so it has been a learning experience especially with all the other outside issues.

      Like

Leave a Reply

